Mrs. Roslyn Khan Cummings has had a long and distinguished career in the Public Service, which she joined in 1967. Whilst she has served at the Executive level at several Ministries, her first posting was at the Ministry of Legal Affairs, as an Administrative/Accounting Assistant. In 1971, Mrs. Khan Cummings was then posted at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, where she served for 34 years – an extensive and illustrious contribution to public service.

During her time at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Mrs. Roslyn Khan Cummings served in various capacities. She was Vice-Consul at Trinidad and Tobago’s Consulate in Toronto, Canada and was First Secretary and Counsellor at this country’s Permanent Mission to the United Nations (UN) in New York.

As a Delegate to the UN, Mrs. Roslyn Khan Cummings was Trinidad and Tobago’s spokesperson on political, social, environmental, economic, financial, budgetary and administrative matters in the relevant committees of the UN General Assembly. During her extensive career in International Relations, she has also held key roles as Director of Africa, Asia, Middle East and Pacific and European Affairs’ Units in addition to being Director of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Mrs. Khan Cummings was promoted to the post of Deputy Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Community Development, Culture and Gender Affairs in 2005, where she led our country’s Cultural Contingent to the FIFA World Cup Finals in Germany in June 2006. In 2007, Mrs. Khan Cummings was assigned to the Ministry of Trade and Industry where she served both as Deputy Permanent Secretary and Permanent Secretary. Whilst at this Ministry, she led a Trade Mission, jointly with the President of the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Commerce and Industry to Central America, (Costa Rica, Panama and El Salvador).

In January 2009, Mrs. Khan Cummings took up the post of Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Labour and Small and Micro Enterprise Development with oversight for Labour Administration, the development of Small and Micro Enterprise Sector, the Co-operative Sector and agencies, which fall under the purview of that Ministry, such as the Occupational Safety and Health Authority and Agency, the Cipriani College of Labour and Co-operative Studies and the National Entrepreneurship Development Company Ltd. (NEDCO). She served as Permanent Secretary in this Ministry, until her retirement in 2010.

Mrs. Roslyn Khan Cumming’s retirement as a public officer by no means meant her retirement from work in the interest of public service. During the period 2012-2013, she was the Executive Manager of the Coordinating Secretariat for Trinidad and Tobago’s 50th Anniversary of its Independence Celebrations and Head of the Secretariat for the inaugural and a historic International Conference and Panorama during the years 2014-2015.

Mrs. Roslyn Khan Cummings received her undergraduate degree from the University of Toronto, where she read for a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Spanish. She also read for a Master’s of Arts in Political Science and International Relations from the Long Island University in New York and holds a Post Graduate Diploma in International relations from the Escuela Diplomatica in Madrid, Spain. She completed her Executive Training at Columbia and Harvard Universities in the United States of America.

In 2017, Mrs. Roslyn Khan Cummings received the Medal of Merit (Gold), the highest, national award for Public Service in this country.

Mrs. Roslyn Khan-Cummings is married to Everald “Gally” Cummings, former Coach of the Trinidad and Tobago National Football Team, “the Strike Squad” for the 1990 FIFA World Cup. She is the mother of Ms. Renée Cummings, renowned Criminologist, Rehabilitation Specialist, Journalist and Member of the Sentencing Commission; and Everald Gabre Cummings, a Petroleum Engineer, who was also a prolific athlete at his high school.

On February 4, 2019, Mrs. Roslyn Khan Cummings received her Instrument of Appointment as a member of the Elections and Boundaries Commission for a period of three years.